“It’s all about Sociology, Not Technology”

Last Spring, Bruce Nussbaum, a blogger for Business Week, wrote that what technology companies needed to start using sociology for innovating new ideas and marketing strategies for their products, instead of technology.

View the Article Here

He specifically states that Apple is a company that has done this, while Google has not. While I’m not going to choose sides on that debate, I found his argument that in order to successfully understand what consumers want, you must have a firm understanding of social systems and culture. This has become particularly important in our globalized economy. Perhaps more importantly (especially to me, as I’m a senior unsure about my future), this post made me think about how I can use my sociological education beyond the classroom, and perhaps how I can market myself as someone a company would want to hire.

What do you think? Do you think technology needs sociology?

One Response to “It’s all about Sociology, Not Technology”

  1. Matt says:

    Yes, I think technology needs sociology. Especially with the increasing emphasis upon user-centered designs and customizability, as well as the status symbol that technological gadgets have always held. By hiring sociologists, tech companies better understand what people want, rather than what they just like at the moment, and capitalize upon it.

Leave a Reply

